Spartans Home

My CPU is cooking :((

Cent~SPARTA~

Im running a Intel Q8200 2.4GHz CPU with a stock fan( Temp up to 65'.Im no expert but i think that a trifle hot!). Any ideas what kind of Fan i shud be looking for to replace.

Its a damn mine field out there!!!

Budget is under £75 if poss.

Unless you want to overclock stock fan should do the job no need to spend money for aftermarket cooler.

FIrst what is the room temps ?

Second what are you using to cool your case ?

Third need to check fan rpm maybe it's not runnig at the right speed (you can check in bios and change the speed or use softwere to level up the rpm)

Check if the stock's heatsink is clean off dust, it can cause also for the problem.

Last thing check for vcore voltage if it's not on the stock premeter and higher than that it will cause for overheating.

let us know

Edited by IDAN~SPARTA~

processor can withstand without problems temps up to 100c. First thing I would do would be buying a fans for the pc case, which is much cheaper. Try putting a good fan in the back, to suck the hot air out, a good fan in a front, to put some nice cool air in. You want always a good airflow through the pc.

cheers

also, if temps get too hot, you cpu has a safety feature the makes it automatically shut down before any real damage is made.

65 is no surprise with the temps in the UK at present and it shouldn't be a problem unless like the guys have said your case fans aren't getting that hot air out of your case

SPEEDFAN 4.40

http://www.almico.com/sfdownload.php

If the motherboard supports; It gooooooooood program (free; only a couple off MB)

My CPU fan can go up to +4400 RPM's (never happend yet.. ) (dont buy fans less then 2500rpm (for all fans)(unless?)

Make shure your pc is at least +- 25cm from the wall (rear)(outburst of fan(s))

Check your airflow .. (low in high out ..heat goes upwards)

And how are your wires and pci devices ect.? (a mess?)

(Do some tests on all this stuff )

:bye2: