Spartans Home

Arma 3 Upgrade

Looks like I've got the cash to make my planned upgrade ahead of full game launch. I'm not going complete build as funds are still limited and I'm happy with my Q9550 and 8gb ram.

The intended upgrade of a gfx card and SSD are the following:

Crucial M4 256gb @ £164.99

MSI GTX660 Black Knight 2gb @ £169.99

I'm comfortable with the choice but have 2 questions regarding them.

The Crucial M4's are highly rated around here but I could save £30 opting for a Samsung. What am I really getting for my extra 30 notes?

How good are MSI gfx cards?

I've had no experience as my previous cards always been other brands. This is the cheapest on OC for this spec but another tenner would get me an EVGA or the Twin Frozr (better cooling) version of the MSI or KFA2 cards. Then it's up into £230+ for Ti versions, which I don't want to spend.

Looking to order tonight, so any input appreciated.

if it comes down to a 10,ner

go for it

ur buying into the future

better cooling

less noise maybe

whats the difference between the cards for sure ? (will it still be good in 2 years )

i've got the MSI GTX660TI PE which is (over here) the most bang you get for the buck in the mid-range.

660TI are faster thaan the standard 660 and the MSI is also overclocked (which I never notice as I never play very demanding games.... though GRAW is smooth as silk now....)

I also stuck in an SSD but dunno which brand (upgraded my old 64 gig to a 256 gig for windows/software) the rest is on normal HDD's