Spartans Home

Rooster's OC Experience: The Forum

Rooster90

Well, to put it lightly, I'm a total noob when it comes to overclocking. I know some basics and I understand a few terms, but outside of that this is the first computer where I'm really delving into this. (Refer to my avatar, that will explain how I feel when people start throwing voltages and weird abbreviations at me) I will document my methods and results here, mostly for my own benefit, but also for others' too. Tips and pointers are always appreciated.

Here's my system, all stock settings:

CPU: Intel i7 2600K @ 3.4 GHz (actually at default it runs closer to 3.5 according to CPU-Z)

Mobo: MSI P67A GD-65

RAM: G.Skill Ripjaw-X 8GB DDR3 (dual-channel) @ 1333 MHz

GPU: EVGA GTX 560 Ti 1GB

-Graphics Clock: 900MHz

-Memory Clock: 2106MHz

-Processor (Shaders) Clock: 1800MHz

Case: Cooler Master HAF 912. Great, ventilated case and unbeatable price. Highly recommended for those on a tight budget. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119233

I have sealed liquid cooling system on my CPU and 3 120mm fans throughout my case, one intake on the side and two exhaust (one in the top rear, the other on the very top). My Corsair 850W PSU sits at the bottom of my case.

Liquid Cooler = Asetek 550LC: http://www.asetek.com/products/oem-standard-products/120mm-products/550lc.html

On to the fun stuff. I just uninstalled my video drivers, rebooted in Safe Mode (hit F5 on start-up, selected it in the advanced start-up options) and reset all of my CPU overclocking profiles to the default settings. My mobo comes with a pretty sweet BIOS that's actually a GUI with clickable buttons, making it a much more user-friendly experience. I installed the latest drivers onto my EVGA GTX 560 Ti (275.33 as of this writing).

Nvidia drivers: http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us