Spartans Home

iPad

Durka-Durka~SPARTA~

So I went to the local Apple store the other day to look at the new ipads because I'd heard decent things about them and thought I could use it for my business. (Photographer)

I seriously don't get it with all the obsessivness over Apple products. Yeah they're fast and simple and are a hipster's wet dream, but all I saw when I went there, especially with the ipad, is wasted dollars that could be put to use elsewhere. I'll start by saying that I'm a photographer, and my primary use for something like this would be to be a fancy way to show my portfolio to clients (who prints anymore? lol) and also as a tool on location shoots where I could hook it up to my camera and have a nice big screen in which to fine focus on.

Well, my hopes were dashed when I found out that the $500 cost was only for 16gb of storage space and the thing didn't even have a frikkin USB port. To get more space, it was an extra hundred dollars. There was one port on the bottom that went to power and such, and the lady at the ipad store said I can get a USB adapter for an extra $30. The thing is very thin, which can be nice, but I can see that, out of the box, it could only be used in a very sterile enviornment. One drop and the thing would be toast. And it would be easy to drop, that's how thin it is. I didn't check the prices, because I had made my decision at that time, but I'm sure the extra buffer pad or whatever cost an arm and a leg too. At least Nintendo shipped the extra stuff for free with the Wii.